Staff Captain Andy Willard, Chief Pilot Captain Patane, and Captain David Box

Staff Captain Andy Willard, Chief Pilot Captain Patane, and Captain David Box

 

Good Day everyone. My name is David Box, from Anglesey in the UK, and I recently joined the good ship Pacific Dawn as her very fortunate Captain , fulfilling a long held wish to be back  in the southern hemisphere, cruising from Sydney, Australia out into the South Pacific.

And what a pleasure it has been. I have really enjoyed the last 2 months, have met some great passengers, visited some exciting new ports  and l can assure that no Captain could wish for a finer ship or ship’s company.

We have just enjoyed a 28 day cruise out to Tahiti and her islands, Samoa, the Cook Islands, Tonga, Fiji and New Caledonia. The Tahitian Treasures cruise  was a memorable experience and will remain as one of my favourite voyages. 

For the first time in quite a few years Staff Captain Andy Willard and myself were able to don the traditional Lavu Lavus, as presented by the Chief Pilot Captain Patane,  for our arrival and departure in the dramatic port of Pago Pago, American Samoa. They aroused much comment on board but we enjoyed the chance to participate in a local tradition.

 I look forward to welcoming you aboard Pacific Dawn during my tours of duty on board in the next year.

